Kuttu (Buckwheat) – The Pseudocereal

Share this article

Kuttu ka atta is synonymous with Navratri. But do you know that when you eat kuttu, you are actually consuming a superfood!

What makes Kuttu ka atta eligible for eating during Navratri fast? Well simply because unlike wheat it does not fall in the category of a cereal grain. It is actually a seed but is thought and used as grain.

One would be surprised to know that despite the name, buckwheat has no relation to wheat, as it is not a grass. It is therefore referred to as a pseudocereal.

Though in India it is mainly consumed during the fasts, in various parts of the world it is a staple food item. The Japanese indulge in the soga (buckwheat) noodles and the French love their buckwheat crepes.

Kuttu is extremely nutritious and offers various health benefits. Packed with amino acids, vitamins, minerals like magnesium and antioxidants, it is an ideal neutral substitute for fasting in place of heavy gluten rich grains. It’s easily digestible protein keeps the system at ease.

Buckwheat being gluten-free is safe for people with celiac diseases and gluten sensitivity. Its consumption has also been linked to lower risk of developing high blood pressure and high cholesterol.

Remember, Kuttu, being rich in protein needs a good amount of water for proper digestion. Therefore it is imperative that we increase our liquid intake for proper elimination of toxins to aid in the process of detoxification.

DCN TIP

  • It is a seed and not a grain
  • Gluten free
  • Safe for people with celiac disease
  • Easily Digested Proteins
  • Has a warm potency

So, why wait for Navratri, let’s make kuttu a part of our regular diet for all the health benefits that it offers.

“If you are looking for online consultation or have a query that needs to be resolved, Please write to us”